Hiring Property Management - Posted by Talia (NY)

Posted by Rob-TN on June 11, 2002 at 11:49:40:

A management company usually receives 10% of the collected rent. Their fee is for showing the property, arranging repairs, executing the lease, collecting rent, handling all problem calls, etc.
When the manager collects the rent he will pay himself 10% first, then pay any bills such as repairs, advertising, or the owner’s mortgage (if owner asks for this). After everything is paid, the owner receives what’s left. Absolutely nothing is paid for by the manager. Hope this helps.

Hiring Property Management - Posted by Talia (NY)

Posted by Talia (NY) on June 11, 2002 at 11:09:17:

Hi all:

I’ve heard a lot of talk about hiring management companies to handle rentals. I’m not looking to rent right away (I’m a newbie) but I was wondering exactly how it works.

When you hire a company, how are they paid? Are they paid monthly? Do the payments cover all repairs? Or does the landlord pay extra for repairs? Just wondering.

Thanks for responses in advance,

-TAP

Re: Hiring Property Management - Posted by eric-fl

Posted by eric-fl on June 11, 2002 at 14:17:39:

If you’re new, and will be starting off with a small inventory of units, there no reason, in my opinion, not to self manage. 10% (the usual fee) of the monthly rent is a lot, and will usually wipe out most or all of your cash flow, unless you are putting a lot down or buying a large, multi-unit building. Even if it doesn’t, 10% is still a lot to give away.