Help with "Subject To" Offer - Posted by Novice Seller

Posted by Craig (IL) on February 04, 2002 at 07:07:40:

I am not an expert, but let me try. I?ll assume you don?t have a lot of experience with this, so I’ll give details. Subject-to purchases are an advantage to buyers because they don?t have to qualify with a lender and because closing costs are usually lower. The advantage for sellers is the speed of the sale; subject-to purchases can be done post haste. You as the seller, can help a qualified buyer because a year?s worth of timely payments to you, when property documented, goes a long way to showing lenders, who would give them a loan and cash you out, they can qualify for a loan.

At a minimum, you would want to check references and credit. Where has this buyer lived the past five years? Moved a lot? Why? Owned? Rented? Ever evicted? Bankruptcy? Late on payments of any kind? Work history. How have they maintained property in the past? You want to know the reason they want such a purchase. If they can?t qualify with a lender, why not? Just married–any reason to believe the marriage will survive? Etc. You want hard evidence that this person is going to make payments and eventually cash you out. If you don?t find it, don?t do it. The seller would need an income no less than three times the cost of a loan + home insurance + property taxes; a higher income if the property needs a lot of maintenance or if the buyer has other high or unusual expenses.

Regarding your first question, use a lawyer on this. Ask the lawyer to construct a land trust for you and the buyer. Ask if the lawyer will add provisions for returning the property to you for lack of payment. When shopping for a lawyer, ask qeustions. you want a real estate lawyer experinced with land trusts.