Help, want to learn about Fixer upper - Posted by Marcello

Posted by Mike Schmidt on April 20, 2001 at 09:05:33:

Hey JohnBoy,
If you are ever in the area working on your shop in my area, let me know, would be honored to buy you a few beverage of choice!!! There is a great little chicken wing place down the road from you called Hooties or something like that : )

Help, want to learn about Fixer upper - Posted by Marcello

Posted by Marcello on April 19, 2001 at 19:56:53:

HI,

I am looking to take some courses to become more knowledgable about fixing up properties. I am very interested in fixer uppers because I see the whole project as kind of a hobby. the problem being is that I have very little knowledge of what to do. I am young (mid-twenties), live in San Diego, and I would like to find a plan to learn how to do these myself (ie construction course on evenings or weekend, etc).

Can anyone reccommend to me how I can learn about this.

Thanks again everyone.

Marcello.

Re: Help, want to learn about Fixer upper - Posted by Bob in Atlanta

Posted by Bob in Atlanta on April 20, 2001 at 09:03:22:

One other idea…go in with a partner that is very handy. That’s what I did. I’m average as a handyman but I got a partner that is the best.

The problem is it’s like being married to a beautiful woman - I’m worried about him leaving me.

Re: Help, want to learn about Fixer upper - Posted by Mike Schmidt

Posted by Mike Schmidt on April 19, 2001 at 20:28:31:

Its my opinion that some people no matter how hard they try, just dont make good carpenters. Others can pick it up just by reading about it or by looking at something and knowing they could do it. I would suggest you learn which you are first, if you dont know for sure. I owned a home improvement business for several years and hired many “helpers”. Some were amazing some could never even learn how to dip a brush in paint!.