Help, Please - Posted by chuck M

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on February 11, 2002 at 24:46:57:

Tell them you are not willing to do anything. You have been honest and forward with them. If they feel that they have a case, then they will have to take you to court and actually prove wrong doing.

Your statements appear as if you knew nothing about a real problem, they would need to prove that you knew it was a problem.

Just my 2 cents…

Help, Please - Posted by chuck M

Posted by chuck M on February 10, 2002 at 22:09:31:

Please. go easy, I am new at this.

I sold a home (personel home) last November. I guess shortly after the new owners move in ( 3 days) the sewer backed up. Well I had just had the guy out to clean it out like 3 weeks before and I called him back out since it was under warranty, thinking he just didn’t get it cleaned out real good the first time. This has happened a couple of times during a 30 year stay at the home.

Didn’t hear any more until yesterday. RE agent calls me and said they have been having problems all along and want me to pay to have something done, even replace the sewer line.

They are saying I knew there was a problem all along and should have disclosed it. Well this is not true, there was never a problem other than maybe a cleanout once a year or so. Nothing more than anyother home owner in the area had. No worst than any home in a mature area with large trees. I was never informed by the sewer guy I had a problem, he just did his thing and left. The neighbor across the street has to have his cleaned out about every 8 months, so I guess I was lucky. The City has a turbo cleaning truck come out and cleanout the sewer line every 2 years or so.

Through the years I was told that most likely it was roots, but never for sure, as they never pulled anything out.