Help me with American Terminaology - Posted by Arthur

Posted by Arthur on March 15, 2004 at 17:26:59:

Thanks for your assistance Randy, its appreciated.

When i was asking about if i should ask what the existing loan rate was, it was because i wanted to know how much space i had to play with.

Thanks again.

Help me with American Terminaology - Posted by Arthur

Posted by Arthur on March 15, 2004 at 16:42:57:

Hi,
I’m a UK investor who is moving to the USA. I have been buying property for about 7 years in the UK, but things are done totally different in the USA. Its a totally different ball game.

I have seen one property whos figures seem good, but i have yet to see the property. Its an RV park with some owned modular homes, 3 houses, and 16 rented space. It generates about $80k a year in rental income.

The selling price is $450k. Advert says seller will carry with $100k down. Property also seems to have been on the market for about a year. Its not in the best part of town.

When i questioned the owner about the terms of the sellers financing, she replied,
“He has a first and there would need to be a wrap.”

Am i right in assuming that this means i take on his existing loan? I’m causous about asking questions as they may be stupid questions which would kill my credability. Its hard enough getting an agent to work with you and i had to threaten this one that i would go straight to the owner if i didn’t get the info i was asking.

What key questions should i be asking with regards to this? This sort of thing is just not possible in the UK. You either get a loan from a bank or pay cash - its that straight forward. Returning back to the USA next week, so would like to be ready for then.

Any help appreciated.

Re: Help me with American Terminaology - Posted by Randy (SD)

Posted by Randy (SD) on March 15, 2004 at 17:04:55: