HELP, I've never done MH's before (LONG) - Posted by Jim FL

Posted by Brad (KSA) on July 17, 2001 at 02:24:22:

Hey you guys in Oklahoma.
Watch out for John “Bones” Lowry–don’t do business with him.

HELP, I’ve never done MH’s before (LONG) - Posted by Jim FL

Posted by Jim FL on July 16, 2001 at 03:13:56:

Hello all,
Some of you may either know me, or remember my postings from the “Main board” here at CRE.
I am primarily a SFH investor, who recently relocated to Florida.
Before arriving here my wife and I had already planned on purchasing a course on MH’s. We knew that Florida would offer us great opportunities for deals, both in SFH’s and MH’s.
Since I already feel rather comfortable doing “Houses”, we decided to hold off on buying the MH course while we build a small inventory of SFH’s here. (Should have our first one this week, aside from the one we live in that is.)
NOTE: We have only been here 2 weeks, and just started marketing 3 days ago.
So, we got some temporary signs made up to get the word out about us, until our new advertising arrives, and gets placed up. (I am getting ready to BOMBARD this place with my “message”.)
And of course being the ever aggressive guerilla marketer, we got some calls already. (Not bad for two days of signs out there.)
One of which was a seller with a Mobil home.
He asked if I bought them?
I said, “Sure, if we feel there is a good deal to be had, and we can come to some terms.”
Being rather clueless about these, I just played it by ear.
I asked as much as I could think of, and determined that we do have a motivated seller on our hands.
Problem is, I have no idea as to whether or not there is a deal here.
So, where else could I turn but here, right?
Here is what I know so far, and any guidance is appreciated;

Make: Redmond (or is it Redman?, there was background noise, hard to hear the seller.)
Year: 1977
Style: Double wide, with 2 baths, and 2 bedrooms.