Help I Need A Credit Line - Posted by David FL

Posted by TRandle on June 29, 2001 at 21:05:23:

David,
How many bankers are there in your town? How many have you contacted? If you’re in a hurry, go knock on some doors. You’ll find someone willing to work with you.

For the longer term plan, I read where several folks here have had success by presenting business plans. I began one a while back, but it keeps getting put on the back burner. Anyway, hope that helps some…

Help I Need A Credit Line - Posted by David FL

Posted by David FL on June 29, 2001 at 18:47:19:

I posted this on the financing fourm an got little response so I thought I’d try this one.(Especially after reading Mr Porter’s post earlier)

This is my first year full time REI I have done 3 rehabs netting about 70k. I have 130k cash and a 50k credit line and a 740 beacon. To get were I want to be, I need about a 500k to work with. My banker just told me “sorry” all credit lines are based on income (other than real estate) and not the collatral and they have been burned by RE investors. I don’t feel I should have to pay hard money rates. What does everybody else do? Do I just have to pay the price? Are all big banks like this? Anyone in the know I would really like some help. I am closing on 2 homes in the next few weeks and using up a large chunk of my cash. So I need to plan ahead now. Thankyou in advance.
Thanks…David FL

Re: Help I Need A Credit Line - Posted by IB (NJ)

Posted by IB (NJ) on July 01, 2001 at 02:55:51:

Hi David:

I started working with a hard money lender (Gala Resources, LLC) whose terms seem to be reasonable: 16-18% int. only, 4 pts. up front, no (BS) origination fees. No exit fees or prepayment penalties.