Have some bucks to invest...need help on how. - Posted by Mark

Posted by Carlos on January 18, 2005 at 21:48:28:

Mark,

I think you may be right about the rental market turning up, although that’s not an area I’m very familiar with. But I’ve seen that interest-rate link argument used elsewhere, and it makes some sense to me.

But as you say, if the cap rates go up, this can take a huge bite out of any advantage you gain from rent increases. That’s why I’m not convinced that, in general, this is a time to be buying. But we don’t live in “general”, we live in our own towns and cities, and see specific deals. So, maybe if you look real hard you can find some good deals in the MPLS area.

Anyhow, best of luck.

=Carlos=

Have some bucks to invest…need help on how. - Posted by Mark

Posted by Mark on January 13, 2005 at 11:02:42:

Great site here, glad I found it.

I have an investor with about $7 million he is willing to allow me to invest in real estate. I have about 12 years experience in almost all facets of residential and commercial real estate.

I would feel most comfortable in a residential mutli-family scenario. After reading a lot here about cap rates, is this really a bad time to invest? If you were in my shoes, what would you do if you were investing in residential multi-family? What kind of IRR will real estate investors look for with real estate investments today?

One other thing. Is it true that as interest rates rise, demand for rentals will go up and rents can therefore be increased after having been steady for so long? I am thinking that this alone may make it a good time to buy. I know this is a simple statement, but I’m sure there is a genius here who can correct me.

Re: Have some bucks to invest…need help on how. - Posted by Lori McMahon

Posted by Lori McMahon on August 29, 2008 at 10:45:22: