Great deal/bad credit - Posted by Mary (PA)

Posted by Charles Clark on January 19, 2003 at 13:44:52:

HI Michaela,
Thanks for the confirmation from you and James Strange. I am a mortgage broker, and we sometimes have to treat people in Credit counseling as if they were in a Chapter 13 BK.
While on that subject, It is sad that the better/more honest way (in my opinion) of going BK is chapter 13. Yet, for your ongoing credit/ability to buy a home etc, people are better off going into Chapter 7.
Thanks again,
Charles

Great deal/bad credit - Posted by Mary ¶

Posted by Mary ¶ on January 18, 2003 at 21:39:13:

OK I am trying very hard to keep my head up but boy has it been difficult. I finally found a house that is great for me and my family, its affordable and could be the beginning of some great things to come. However, I have some past credit problems and the banks just won’t even consider giving us a loan. My husband has a great Job(2yrs), and I am a successful RE agent in training. This is the deal…house is 5br 1 bath…needs some cosmetic work (especially in the kitchen) could use some new windows. Asking price is 38500. It is a bank owned property in a fairly nice area where the comps are from 69,900 and up. I think with a little elbow grease we could surely increase the value of the home. There are grants available for owner occupants in this area as it is a historic home to help us fix it up so repair funds would not be necessary. My median credit score is 589 high is 605 however I have some medical bills and a car repossesion in the past that is still on my report and it is keeping me from getting approved. I am considering credit counseling to help me get these things paid off but from what the banks tell me I am better off filing bankruptcy and starting over again try for a house in about 2yrs. But I need to do something fairly soon and cant see myself losing what I have worked so hard to achieve only to start over again. Any solutions for me ??