Government Seizures - Posted by Sheila

Posted by Doug on December 14, 1998 at 05:51:46:

Shiela I am not an expert in this area but do have a few thoughts on this… If you were given a quit claim deed that would mean you have taken the property subject to the liens… Did you use an attorney for this transaction? I very rarely use an attorney on any of my deals but if this one was one of my deals and it was being purchased from the US GOVERNMENT I would use 3 attorneys…lol
Good Luck
Douglas Timko
notes4sale@yahoo.com

Government Seizures - Posted by Sheila

Posted by Sheila on December 12, 1998 at 15:12:45:

I recently acquired a property (via quitclaim deed) that I was unaware was seized by the US Attorney’s office 2 years prior. The property is currently not on any list to be sold at public auction (it has a mortgage). Is there a way I can make arrangements to get clear title from the local US Attorneys office directly? The house is still in the name of the owner with a $25,000 fine.

Please advise!
Thanks!

Re: Government Seizures - Posted by johnman

Posted by johnman on December 15, 1998 at 24:18:49:

Did you use an attorney to close on this deal? I was offered a quit claim deed by the “owner” of this property here in Savannah but I declined to accept the offer because I wanted to make sure that I can have a clear title. My lawyer saved my behind! I listened to him plus this site helped a lot. We couldn’t close because of several reasons. Just wanted to share this with you.

Good luck,
Johnman

Re: Government Seizures - Posted by BankRobber

Posted by BankRobber on December 12, 1998 at 21:47:46: