Getting Started - Posted by PN_Texas

Posted by PN_Texas on June 17, 2003 at 08:53:21:

Ron,

You’ve been kind enough to provide good advice, once again, to another novice here on this board. Thanks for taking the time to answer this. I’m not sure how much capital is needed (I do have a few thousand), but you’ve also confirmed that i need to educate myself before I “jump in”.

Thanks for the advice.
Paul

Getting Started - Posted by PN_Texas

Posted by PN_Texas on June 16, 2003 at 09:18:05:

I am very impressed with the support and insights that many of you pass along to new investors like myself.

My question is basic:

What is the best way for someone like myself, with limited funds, to get started in real estate investing? I have very limited knowledge about the real estate industry, but I agree with all of you that knowledge is power. What are the best resources, or books, for this essential knowledge? (Before I shell out hundreds of dollars to Carlton Sheets, or someone similar, I’d just like to know that I’m going in the right direction.)

---- Paul -----

Re: Getting Started - Posted by Ron Curiel

Posted by Ron Curiel on June 16, 2003 at 14:33:08:

Paul, I would start with the Suzanne Thomas book, “Rental Houses for the Successful Small Investor.” The second book to read is, “Financial Independence Through Buying and Investing in SIngle Family Homes,” by David Grzesiek. The second book is actually my favorite but the Thomas book is better written.

Next, I would tell you that RE is a business. It doesn’t take a lot of money to begin but it does take some. Even if your credit is such that you can get a no-down loan, you might not want to as this could mean you are dangerously stretched out, financially.

Also, you should have operating capital. Houses need to be cared for and that costs money. If you don’t have it that could lead to deferred maintenance and your house will become an eyesore.