Gay Tenant Dies! Families CRAZY! Legal advice? - Posted by Melony-FL

Posted by Bill Gatten on November 23, 2000 at 14:19:27:

Melony,

Not being an attorney, I can’t tell you what one would say, However, if I were in your shoes I think I’d have everything put into storage and refuse to release anything to anyone without a court order.

I’m not an authority on landlord tenant law, but I’d assume that would be your right as the owner of the property and maybe the most prudent course of action.

And too, let me say I’m sorry for the loss of your friends, and apologize for the very distasteful and misplaced response below (re. “Gill”) in the face of such a tragedy.

Bill

Gay Tenant Dies! Families CRAZY! Legal advice? - Posted by Melony-FL

Posted by Melony-FL on November 23, 2000 at 11:39:55:

This is a new one on me! I need help!!!

I had 2 Gay tenants, lets call them Joe and Alan. They have been together for 18 years, although Joe was married previously and has children. Alan only has siblings. Three months ago, Joe was diagnosed with cancer, and proceded down hill quickly. At the same time, Alan was diagnosed with AIDS. Last week, BOTH were admitted to the hospital, totally unable to care for themselves. Last Friday, Joe died.

Alan is still in the hospital, but has only a short time to live. His mind is totally gone. and we can’t even have a conversation with him. The doctors have told the family he will never recover, and he must go into a home to be taken care of until he passes.