FSBO's - Posted by Chad McCandless

Posted by Jim on March 14, 2005 at 16:22:54:

MAI designation is to an appraiser, what a CPA designation is to accountant.

Its a designation they receive after completing a required set of courses.

Expect to pay accordingly.

FSBO’s - Posted by Chad McCandless

Posted by Chad McCandless on March 14, 2005 at 10:44:18:

I am new to the process of buying a house. I have my own, but would like to purchase some as investment properties. I am mainly wondering what I need to have done when I buy a house that is a FSBO, to make sure that I have all of my ducks in a row. I will need to have an appraisal as well as a home inspection done. I am assuming there is some type of insurance that I can buy that will cover the home for a certain period of time after I buy the house also. Is there anything else that I need to do?

I was also planning on making a lot of offers on houses that were 10% below what they are asking for. Has anyone ever tried this with any success?

I appreciate any responses.

Thanks in advance,
Chad McCandless

Re: FSBO’s - Posted by Mike-OH

Posted by Mike-OH on March 14, 2005 at 11:22:35:

Chad,

Making offers of 10% below the asking price is financial suicide. In fact, the asking price should have absolutely nothing to do with your offer. You should make your offer based on a percentage of the market value. A common method is to determine the market value by checking comparable sales (or better yet look at dozens of houses until you can determine the market value by simply looking at the house). Then, your maximum offer should be 70% of the market value minus repair costs. So, if a house would be worth $100,000 after getting $5,000 in repairs (including new carpet, paint, etc), then you would make your maximum offer $65,000. Additionally, your offer should have nothing to do with who is selling the house (Realtor, FSBO, REO, etc.)