Flipping Homes In Phoenix... - Posted by AZ

Posted by Tim Fierro on August 20, 2001 at 14:48:23:

Something I have noticed in reading over the past month or so. Some of the books I have read were probably printed about 10 years ago. These all show that you should buy a home for $20,000 and put $2,000 repairs in it and then sell it for $30,000. Of course this is an exaggerated example.

Well, here in the Seattle area, you are not going to find a home for $20,000. Most land here is at least $50,000 without a house on it. If most homes in rural locations go for $120-160, you need to buy them under $100 to make it profitable.

The reason I am looking at REI is that in the past year I have listed, I am a real estate agent, 2 homes that I priced at below market value for the owners. They both wanted out, and fast. 1 was going to lose the home to foreclosure in less than 60 days. 1 lost his job and could not afford it; new job prospects to keep lifestyle was not possible.

1. $215,000 (With time could have gotten $259)
  2. $239,000 (With time could have gotten $269)

Now if I could have, or would have been an investor, I might have told them I would take it right now and they pick the move out date. They both sold their houses before it was too late, but if they would have had 2 months to fix everything up (Nominal fixes), they could have received thousands more.

On a bonus side, I would have lowered the price to cover my commission coming and going for an extra $10,000 into the pot.