First Property: Did I get it right? - Posted by Jeffrey (TX)

Posted by Rod Hanks on June 21, 2001 at 21:11:28:

Although I don’t have an answer for you, I would like a copy of the spreadsheet that Marc Coan sent you. I am just beginning in this business and need all the tools I can get.

First Property: Did I get it right? - Posted by Jeffrey (TX)

Posted by Jeffrey (TX) on June 21, 2001 at 13:53:39:

I am getting closer to my first deal. I have been reading on the boards here off and on for the last few months and evaluating properties I come across. I have yet to find a ‘motivated seller,’ but I have finally come across what looks to be a good deal.

Property and neighborhood is in good condition. I will be taking a walk through the property tomorrow. One unit rented @ $1100/mo until Feb 2002, second unit vacant (owner moved out this week). Rate is in line with the market according to local paper. I think the second unit (slightly larger) will rent for $1200.

Property: Duplex, built 1981. Asking: $205,000. Property taxes show value at $165,000 (tax rate = $27.79/1000). Owner advertising 10% down, they will carry 90% @ 8.5%. I have not started to negotiate on rate or price. From the conversation so far, the seller is not desperate but wants to retire without worrying about the property or tenants. My first guess is she wants some cash in her pocket and a regular income from carrying the note.

I have run the numbers through a spreadsheet provided by a few months back by Marc Coan (Thanks, Marc!) and the deal seams solid.

Issues: I do not have $20k in cash. My wife & I make plenty, but have spent it all. I am looking for an unsecured line of credit and/or will partner with my brother or parents for the downpayment. I do not know my credit score, but it will likely be poor and just starting to improve over the last 6-12 months.