First Potential Deal - Posted by Jay

Posted by JohnK on March 03, 2003 at 10:38:16:

Hi:

In Candian Case law, when a seller try to circumvent the agent’s contract and commission, the court awarded damages
plus the commission owed. I’m not a lawyer or real estate agent, but I read this in a definitive work about Canadian Real Estate. I would supsect in a even more litiguous USA environment, this could be considered even more expensive. Make sure that the agent is aware of the deal in progress and/or that the seller presents you a copy of the agenct’s contract. To strengthen your situation, I would put a contigency in the offer to protect yourself.

JohnK

First Potential Deal - Posted by Jay

Posted by Jay on February 23, 2003 at 16:48:37:

I’ve been browsing this web site on & off for a couple of months. There is a lot of good info here. I’ve been slow in getting into REI because like a lot of people I think I’m too busy. I finally decided that I need to making the move.