First L/O Happening HELP ! SCARED ! R.E.Pros ? - Posted by David Larkins

Posted by phil fernandez on October 31, 1998 at 09:47:00:

David,

I think the deal is too skinny. As you mentioned winter is closing in. Fewer tenants and buyers out there looking. Everything would have to go exactly right for you to profit on this one. One bad tenant could kill you.

Consider this a good learning experience and move on to a more profitable deal.

First L/O Happening HELP ! SCARED ! R.E.Pros ? - Posted by David Larkins

Posted by David Larkins on October 30, 1998 at 23:18:08:

Although I have one rental condo that I used to live in, I am new to R.E. investments.

I have a 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath townhome in a good neighborhood that I have (thus far) successfully negotiated the following with the owners.

They were interested in entertaining a L/O from the start lucky me!(their FSBO ad indicated it). They are building another home and they don’t have enough equity to list with realtor, and have only been in the home for three years.

Initially, they wanted no more than a two year lease. After building some rapport at our first face to face meeting, I called on them several days later, and simply asked them for a three year term, and they agree(too easy ?). I enticed them with the fact that I will take care of any maintenance under $150.00 per month, my excellent credit history, the fact that I am devoted to finding a suitable buyer for their home,and presenting a professional approach/appearance.

The deal has the following characteristics:

Original Asking Price: $99,900.00

Offer to Lease Option: $97,980.00

Option Consideration: $1000.00 (toward purchase price)

Monthly Rent: $930.00

Term: 36 months

No rent credit: $0.00

My final price to pay: $96,980.00

The owners owe their lender approximately $94,000.00. The transfer tax plus the area’s traditional closing costs will bring them up to $95,000.00 or so. They stand to make $1000-$1500 at close.