First Eviction - Missouri - Posted by Philip

Posted by KC Questions on March 27, 2005 at 16:23:33:

Where are you in Missouri?

I am in Kansas City. Here we file a landlord’s petition. Here is a link for it:

Fill it out and take it to the courthouse. Pay a fee, I think it is $77 for the first person listed, and $22 for each other person in the house that needs to be listed. You don’t need to list minors. You will wait around a week before they tell you your court date, which will probably take another 3 or 4 weeks. Go to that, bring your lease and any other documents, and wait for your case.

When the judge rules in your favor, they will tell the tenant to be out in 10 days. Before you leave the courthouse, go downstairs and fill out the form for the sheriff to come. It takes around 10 days to process. This is for if the tenants don’t leave, the sheriff can come and watch you change the locks and have people that you hire to put their belongings on the street. The sheriff is only there to keep the peace.

Also get a second copy of the “sheriff” form. It has a second section that deals with judgements and garnishments. Fill these out with the tenant’s bank and job info to procede with trying to get the money they owe you.

First Eviction - Missouri - Posted by Philip

Posted by Philip on March 27, 2005 at 14:54:22:

I read Missouri’s Landlord/Tenant law and it says “self eviction” is not legal in Missouri. Of course that sounds like you can’t evict yourself!
I guess they meant to say there is a legal process to follow.
I know you do it through the courts and a sheriff serves the notice.

Tommorrow I plan on filing on a non-paying renter.
Should I hire an attorney the first time or can I do this on my own?

I have read these archives as well as Missouri’s L/T law and just don’t understand enough details.

BEFORE you say to check locally…I already know that; and am going to the courthouse next week.
Sometimes people at the courthouse don’t really know what to tell a person though…many of them just do the clerical work and only understand it from their end.

Any Missourians with any thoughts? (Aside from "ask your local officials, many times experienced landlords can explain it easier than people from other angles)

Re: First Eviction - Missouri - Posted by Been There

Posted by Been There on March 27, 2005 at 22:23:33:

Sounds like you need a lawyer. $200 plus filing fees and process serving. You know it gets done right. And you can ask plenty of questions, see the paperwork, etc. The next time will be simple. But right now you don’t know what you don’t know.