Finding an attorney - Posted by Tara

Posted by MoniqueUSA on June 17, 2001 at 21:50:03:

nt

Finding an attorney - Posted by Tara

Posted by Tara on June 16, 2001 at 22:34:57:

I need to find an attorney for my real estate transactions. What should I look when chosing a real estate attorney? Does anyone have an attorney in Salt Lake they can recommend>

Thanks for your help!
Tara

Re: What to look for in a RE lawyer - Posted by sueC

Posted by sueC on June 17, 2001 at 06:57:15:

Tara, good question, I don’t think this comes up much.

As a corporate lawyer myself, here’s what I looked for when seeking out an attorney. Find a lawyer who:

1. Spends 60% or more of his practice doing ONLY real estate. Lots of general practitioners will tell you yes, they can do closings, trusts, etc., but they are actually learning on your nickel.

2. Has been doing RE law for at least 5 years.

3. Is recommended by other experienced investors you know. Contacts through your local RE association are valueable here.

4. Is a member of the local REIA.

5. Invests in real estate.

6. Has several if not many full time, professional RE invstors as clients. Ask about some of their clients. You want to hear that they represent individuals with everyting from Section 8 portfolios to rehabbers to strip malls and other commercial stuff. You’ll know they’ve been tried and tested!

7. Is on the RE committee of your local bar association, or is involved in running or developing the continuing legal ed courses for the county. Those are classes taught by lawyers for lawyers, and the guy who’s running them will know his stuff. The county bar association shoud be able to help you find those people.