Economic Cycles and Note Portfolios - Posted by Stacy (AZ)

Posted by John Behle on November 23, 1998 at 12:41:28:

I’ll send you some details

Economic Cycles and Note Portfolios - Posted by Stacy (AZ)

Posted by Stacy (AZ) on November 16, 1998 at 17:52:53:

As the economy cycles though buyer’s and seller’s markets, and low and highly inflationary periods, are there strategies to follow regarding note portfolios? I’m fairly new to the note business, still just learning, and I’m curious about the volitility of the business as it relates to the economy.

If I would start my portfolio now, and over the next year or so accumulate some of the good notes described in the posts and articles here, would I need to do anything with the existing notes if the economy starts a down cycle? How about buying and selling new notes in a down-cycle? Are there different strategies for finding notes or funding sources?

The note business seems to parallel hard real estate investing to a large degree. However, are there differences for which one should plan ahead of time in order to be positioned correctly in a down-cycle?

Would I sell-off the lower producing notes to take advantage of bargains that could be had when the market changes? Or am I trying to make an analogy that doesn’t exist?

Stacy

I Love “Refunding” - Posted by John Behle

Posted by John Behle on November 17, 1998 at 12:33:21:

Here’s the article I mentioned.

I love “Re-funds”
(By John D. Behle)
A student in my training program had questions about a section of my book “The Paper Game.” As I read through it, I realized it helped to illustrate the potential yields and profits available through “Improving” paper (private seller financing or discounted mortgages).