Death of the sandwich lease option - Posted by Mrs SD

Posted by Houserookie on November 22, 2000 at 12:20:11:

Hi Ed,

The name Houserookie was chosen because I wanted
to be different. : )

Can I ask what made you ask that question?

Also, as for 95% NOO, I have had zero experience.
I do know that I can do a NOO at zero down
with LTV around 80.

There are many ways to profit in real estate, but
I try to focus primarily on assignments and
L/Os when the ocassionas arise.

I don’t push too deep for 20-30% profit, just
a handful at $10K per month is fine. : )

Of course, it doesn’t always result in what I
pray for.

I use Vandy for all my L/O sales. Not sure if
they are the best out there, but I figure if
the t/b can find a better deal go for it. All
I need is a pre-approved letter and a contact
person.

Houserookie

Death of the sandwich lease option - Posted by Mrs SD

Posted by Mrs SD on November 20, 2000 at 10:09:42:

This issue is of such dire importance, that I think it warrants a rerun for anyone who missed thes posts (I’ve consolidated two) by B.L. Renfrow.

"Your idea of a double close was a good one…until recently. Just within the past year, lenders have gotten particularly squeamish about
funding deals where the seller hasn’t been on title for at least 6-12 months. So if your buyers are using a conventional lender. it’s a good
bet they won’t fund the deal.

The title seasoning issue is one that is still unfolding; where it will end up is hard to say with certainty. But as of now, NO subprime lenders
of which I am aware, and FEW conventional lenders will approve a deal with no title seasoning. Exceptions are VA and FHA loans…for
the time being.

How to get around this?

1. Deal with cash buyers only, such as flips to other investors.
  2. Assign your option. See discussion above.
  3. Create a note between the original seller and your buyer and broker the note at closing for cash.