Deals you have learned a lot from - Posted by Tom Dunn

Posted by Tom Dunn on September 11, 2006 at 17:50:13:

Jack,

Thanks for asking.

I’m a writer and real estate investor. I remember when I was getting started, I learned a lot from other’s stories, but they lacked detail. I was always left with unanswered questions, “How did they do this? Why did they do it that way?” etc.

I would like to try my hand at interviewing fellow investors and writing their stories, complete with history, personal background, and details of individual deals. I’m not sure yet where I would publish them- maybe a book or website- but either way, the writing comes first.

I’ve already done my own, but now I need a few more willing folks to help me get my feet wet.

Interested?

Tom Dunn

Deals you have learned a lot from - Posted by Tom Dunn

Posted by Tom Dunn on September 10, 2006 at 14:36:07:

I’m sure that there are a lot of people reading this forum that have completed deals we all could learn from. I am interested in hearing and possibly compiling a few of your stories.

If you have an interesting deal story to tell, or if you have overcome a lot just to get into real estate investing, email me.

Thanks,

Tom Dunn

Here are a few - Posted by Jimmy

Posted by Jimmy on September 12, 2006 at 08:06:52:

I won’t burden you with the deal details, but here are some lessons that have been burned into my hide. All of these are from the perspective of a landlord.

1. When buying rental properties, do not pay a premium for properties which are rented “under market rents.” Make an offer based on existing rents. If the seller wants to fetch a price based on potential rents, let the seller up the rents first.