DCR and Pro Forma with Percentage Rents - Posted by Tom - WA

Posted by Jim Rayner on July 05, 2001 at 13:43:54:

Tom,

Using you handy pocket financial calculator solve for the loan amount as follows;

((-)Net Operating Income/Debt Coverage Ratio)/12 = Monthly Payment

n= number of payments
i= interest rate

then solve for Present Value

this would be the maximum allowable loan that this property could service safely.

DCR and Pro Forma with Percentage Rents - Posted by Tom - WA

Posted by Tom - WA on July 04, 2001 at 15:20:35:

Hi, all:

I’m a novice, trying to put together a loan application package for a refinance of a mixed-use building. Two questions:

1. Do I use the CURRENT mortgage figure for the debt in the DCR, even though they’re applying for a refinance? What if the current lowers the DCR to .68? (ouch) Or when the lender says they’ll accept a DCR of 1.2, should I start from there and try to compute the rest of the loan terms as if that were the effective DCR?

2. The borrower has a pro forma which shows not only the actual rents from tenants, but a different amount for each tenant called “percentage rent.” What does that mean?

Any help greatly appreciated! Anywhere I can find a good book for learning these financial ratios as applied to commercial mortgage loans? (OK, that’s three questions!)

Thanks,
Tom

Re: DCR and Pro Forma with Percentage Rents - Posted by ray@lcorn

Posted by ray@lcorn on July 05, 2001 at 11:30:56:

Tom,

1. Use the debt service for the proposed loan, not the current. I often start with the lender’s required DCR and work backward into the loan amount.

2. You’ll need the actual operating statements for the property. Most lenders require three years of past performance. The pro forma projection of future income should project three years of operation.