contractors... can they be trusted? - Posted by kenn

Posted by jim on September 28, 2002 at 17:56:44:

Kenn,

First of all, yes SOME, NOT MANY contractors can be trusted. I am a licensed and insured builder in the state of MI. It is really too bad, but there are so many hack contractors out there who claim to be something they are not. My suggestions: get referrals, ask to see what they are presently working on, detailed proposals are a must, don’t ever get less than three bids, ask for pictures of past projects… One very important thing is an extremely detailed proposal. I mean every little thing they are going to do,and what kind of materials they will use to do them. I cannot emphasize this enough, if a contractor gives you a proposal that is very general and has grey areas, don’t take it and ask him to write another one and be more detailed. GET EVERYTHING IN WRITING!! I have seen many contractors take advantage of people in this way. Be careful.

My wife and I just moved down to Cincinnati. I am beginning to invest into real estate and am looking for my first fixer upper. I wish I were in Atlanta to help you or even partner up on some properties. I don’t know any builders, contractors, or architects in the Atlanta area. Go to an REI meeting and ask around for some good, reputable, honest contractors. I wish you much luck and success. I hope I was some help to you.

Take care,

Jim

contractors… can they be trusted? - Posted by kenn

Posted by kenn on September 28, 2002 at 24:31:58: