Commissions plus processing fees - Posted by Jack March

Posted by Rich-CA on August 09, 2008 at 15:31:29:

It was not in the disclosures. It also appeared on the HUD-1. I would tell the person handling closing to remove the fee and if they balk, then ask them to show you where you agreed to such a fee in writing. That would make it easier to get the facts about the fee. If they can’t show you agreed to it, then you didn’t and you should refuse to pay it.

Commissions plus processing fees - Posted by Jack March

Posted by Jack March on August 08, 2008 at 12:45:14:

I am a Massachusetts REALTOR. recently, after working 4 months with a Florida broker, I made an offer on a piece of property. it was verbally accepted. When I received the 23 pages of offer, addenda and disclosures, on page 11 “addenda” it said “In addition to any brokerage fees noted in this contract, this agency will collect a $199 Processing/Compliance fee from it’s buyer and/or seller as agreed to in the Real Estate Sales Cost Disclosure Form” I initialed this page.
The said disclosure form listed, among other normal expenses, such fee of $199. At the bottom of such form it said “The undersigned acknowledgs the this instrument has been read and signed before any contract for sale and purchase of the real estate described above has been signed.”
I did read this page and signed it as such.
This fee is sprung upon both the buyer and the seller when the offer paper work is presented.
Is this fee legalor ethical, when commissions are also being paid?
I do not believe I have signed a contract for this fee, I only signed that I have read the disclosure.
Any comments?

Re: Commissions plus processing fees - Posted by River City

Posted by River City on August 09, 2008 at 17:08:06: