Commercial lending 101 - Posted by TonyD

Posted by Mike on March 17, 2009 at 06:21:19:

The scenario you gave is typical, 10 year fixed, 25 year am, 70 LTV. All of that is typical.

If your scenario has a VERY STRONG Debt Service Coverage Ratio, you may be able to get a knowledgeable mortgage broker to locate a higher LTV for you.

Although if you take a higher LTV, do expect at least a slightly higher rate, especially if you are looking to fix your rate for a longer period of time.

Adjustable rates, and balloon mortgages are prevalent in commercial lending. So in the event you do find a straight fixed rate on a loan with a 25+ amortization, consider yourself lucky.

Commercial lending 101 - Posted by TonyD

Posted by TonyD on March 14, 2009 at 24:04:17:

I am a newbie to commercial real estate; I never took a commercial loan before but have to take one soon. Donâ??t know anything about commercial lenders or how to find a reliable one. Also how do commercial loans differ from the residential loans? Any useful responses will be tremendously helpful.

Thanks

Re: Commercial lending 101 - Posted by brandoncbsre

Posted by brandoncbsre on March 14, 2009 at 06:57:30:

First you can finance anything with a commercial loan from load of lettuce to a single family home to the Mall of America.

Commercial lenders are in virtually every small bank across the country. Depending on the size and location of your target you may want to work with a local bank or big name with a local office.

Terms are typically 15 or 20 year amms with small banks. With bigger projects and loan amounts you can find lenders that will go 25 and sometimes 30 year.

It might help responders if you post what it is you are trying to finance.

Re: Commercial lending 101 - Posted by TonyD

Posted by TonyD on March 14, 2009 at 11:46:42:

Great tip, Always paid cash for the lettuce but no more :slight_smile: