Closing costs? - Posted by Charley M

Posted by Devon on October 25, 2004 at 10:21:49:

Investment property closing costs are different than primary residence closing costs. Primary residence is usually between 2-3% of loan amount. Investment properties usually range from 3-6% depending on loan amount, time of month of closing, etc.

Closing costs? - Posted by Charley M

Posted by Charley M on October 24, 2004 at 08:41:35:

I have purchased my first investment property, and I am scheduled to close next week 10/29/04. I have a question concerning closing costs. What is the norm on how much the buyer is expected to pay? I would appreciate any input. It would be helpful to know if there are any unecessary fees at the time of closing. I am a newbie investor and would like to gain some knowledge as to what is to be expected. I live in Florida, so anyone that has any knowledge of standard closing costs here would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Charley M

Re: Closing costs? - Posted by Natalie Smith

Posted by Natalie Smith on October 26, 2004 at 19:40:05:

Are you getting a loan on the property?

If so, the loan broker or lender should have provided you with a Good Faith Estimate. This should tell you how many points you are paying for the loan along with other miscellaneous fees (credit report, appraisal, flood certification, processing fees, underwriting fees, etc).

In addition to the fees associated with the loan, real estate taxes will probably be prorated to the date of sale.

Your lender may require you to pay one year’s premium on hazard insurance. Your lender may also want to collect two more months worth of insurance and two months worth of taxes for your escrow account.

Then, the settlement agent or attorney conducting the closing will also have fees for the title search and title insurance.

Also, there will be recording fees at the local and state level. This is for recording the deed and the mortgage (if any).