Can you fight City Hall? - Posted by Fred

Posted by JPiper on March 09, 2000 at 19:42:25:

Fred:

I’m no expert with city hall…for good reason…I’m EAGER to keep a low profile. If I recollect your original post you had spread some false rumors concerning the use of your building. At that time I wondered what you hoped to accomplish…but it sounds like you got what you wanted…ATTENTION.

It sounds like you’ve already violated certain rules concerning renovation in your area…you didn’t get permits. The fact that your neighbors didn’t either doesn’t make one bit of difference. The city is unlikely to be able to catch everyone who violates the rules…the point is that they did catch you.

Now it appears that you violated a stop work order…entitling you to a fine. I don’t see what your defense is to not getting permits, and then not stopping work. Do you?

Unless you’ve got mighty deep pockets, my suggestion would be that you remedy this situation with the city as quickly and quietly as possible…if that’s still possible. Talk about your constitutional rights really isn’t going to help your pocket book at all.

JPiper

Can you fight City Hall? - Posted by Fred

Posted by Fred on March 09, 2000 at 18:39:16: