Calculating monthly payments - Posted by Evelyn

Posted by Mr Donald (NORVA) on October 21, 1998 at 17:29:49:

Evelyn,

Calculator - BA-35 Solar. $25 at your favourite Office Supply store.

As for this deal, to make it a reality, you’ve got to figure out the Seller’s motivation. How much CASH do they really want or need? What is their current financing? Will they hold a 2nd trust?

Mr Donald

Calculating monthly payments - Posted by Evelyn

Posted by Evelyn on October 20, 1998 at 17:11:10:

Hello,

I have found a home which has 4 units. The owners are in their 70’s and just cannot manage the property anymore. They are asking 239,900.00 and are willing to finance over a period of up to 30 years with a fixed interest rate of 8.00%.

I believe, (I am a novice at this) that I have been calculating all wrong. What would be the monthly payments if I offered their asking price and gave them 16,000.00 down?

I guess it doesn’t make sense to us that people would pay so much in interest over a period of time.

Please help.

Signed a Novice

Re: Calculating monthly payments - Posted by Evelyn

Posted by Evelyn on October 21, 1998 at 16:46:23:

First, let me thank everyone who answered my message so quickly. I really appreciate your assistance.

I am really interested in this property, but I do not want to get into something with payments which may become a problem one day. I can afford it, but who knows in the future what may happen.

Again the property is being offered at 239,900.00 and the owners want to finance at 8 %. I was wondering if I split the loan up, let’s say pay for 125,000.00 within the next 10 years and then pay the remainder of the balance (balloon payment?) at the end of that term.

Basically, does anyone have any ideas on making this opportunity come to reality.

Here are some basic facts on the property: