Buying property analysis...please reply!!! - Posted by J. David

Posted by Will on August 31, 2005 at 11:43:31:

n/m

Buying property analysis…please reply!!! - Posted by J. David

Posted by J. David on August 30, 2005 at 20:26:28:

OK-I am a newbie REI and I have done my due diligence. I have read and studied for almost a year, everything from DOW to Sheets to LeGrand, etc…not to mention this site and several others. I have read and read and read some more. I have about $25k to work with. I want to build that $25k into $50k, then $100k, etc… I know this won’t happen overnight and I am ready to work to do it.

My question is this. I found a house that has been sectioned off into a duplex that I can buy for $80k. The total rent is $1k monthly. I have no idea what the FMV on the house is, but I know it will cash flow about $300 per month. So, if the comps show the house only to be worth $80k, but it cash flows $300 a month… shouldn’t I still buy it? I know you make money when you BUY the property, but I would keep this as a rental, and look for a few more like it.

Please give me your opinion/experiences in this, as I am interested in getting a lot of viewpoints. TIA.

Re: Buying property analysis…please reply!!! - Posted by Reggie

Posted by Reggie on August 31, 2005 at 09:25:31:

Also, make sure it is properly zoned to be a duplex since it was a conversion, and make sure all permits for the conversion work are in line and may want to have someone inspect the work. It is a good possibility the utilities are not split so see who is paying those.

Reg

Re: Buying property analysis…please reply!!! - Posted by Lyal

Posted by Lyal on August 31, 2005 at 06:57:38:

JD,
JT is right on the money (as usual).
One question, how did you arrive at the $300 monthly cashflow? Does that include a reserve for deferred maintenance, vacancy allowance etc? How about debt service?