Buy or wait......? - Posted by Andhy

Posted by Natalie-VA on March 04, 2010 at 14:08:26:

Hi Andy,

I have been buying and selling (mostly flipping) for over 10 years. I, personally, cannot buy a property for 110k, sell it for 130k, and make a profit.

First off, I’ve never met a property that didn’t need repairs to sell it at retail. Secondly, I don’t think you’re considering all of the extra costs involved. You should factor in your closing costs when you buy, your closing costs when you sell, carrying costs for each month you own the property (insurance, taxes, interest, lawn care, utilities, etc.), real estate commissions, closing cost assistance for your buyer, and more.

In my area, those expenses in that price range would run me about $15,000, and I save half the commish, since I’m a broker.

Hope that helps.

–Natalie

Buy or wait…? - Posted by Andhy

Posted by Andhy on March 03, 2010 at 21:49:55:

I’m about ready to sell my last rental, a duplex. After selling this property i’ll be armed with about 240k in cash to go out and find a DEAL on another property.

I told myself the next property I buy I would not pay more than about a 72 gross rent multiplier. I dont feel I can generate adequate cash flow if I pay more than this.

I’ve made a few all cash offers at about that 72 gross rent multiplier range over the last few months and have been shot down cold on every one.

Here’s an example of one.

130k; current market value after repair based on comps

91k; this was my offer taking into acount cost to repair and valued at a 70 gross rent multiplier(1300x70)

offer shot down cold, no counter

Had I got this property at this price, I would have a property that meets my cash flow requirement(70 GRM) and has an instant 39k in equity if I wanted to turn around and sell it.