balloons? & how they work, benefits - Posted by JD Orlando

Posted by jd orlando on June 19, 2002 at 15:57:20:

balloons? & how they work, benefits - Posted by JD Orlando

Posted by JD Orlando on June 18, 2002 at 20:03:04:

OK, I am new to balloons.

If one takes a balloon payment on a second it is essentially an IOU, correct? Seller takes back a “note”?

If this is so, how does one make a “note” and make it legal?

I ask these questions to better understand how this process works. I would further like to discuss how to structure such a deal. Any information and thread that can be started would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
JD

Re: what is a note? - Posted by Nate(DC)

Posted by Nate(DC) on June 18, 2002 at 21:16:54:

A note is written evidence of a debt. I suppose you could think of it being exactly like an IOU. One party writes something saying “I owe you $X and promise to pay it back”, and signs it, and presto, you have a note.

I think your real question is how to create a mortgage or deed of trust to secure that note. If that is your question, the answer is: have an attorney (the same one that’s drafting your note - probably the one who’s doing your closing) draft a mortgage or deed of trust (whichever one your state uses) and have the buyer sign it at the same time they sign your note.

NT

OK now what? - Posted by JD Orlando

Posted by JD Orlando on June 19, 2002 at 05:54:37:

Thanks I’m understanding a little better, in a sense I create my own mortgage.

So, this is, “owner taking back a second”. Now, lets say that this note is for hypothetically 10k. The seller can make up any terms on this note correct?

What becomes the benefit for the buyer having this note?

It is true that I reap the benefits of making the interst off the note, but does it always have to be a balloon? I assume that most likely it is.

Re: OK now what? - Posted by Nate(DC)

Posted by Nate(DC) on June 19, 2002 at 10:36:53: