Asset Protection -LLC or Landtrust??? - Posted by Erskine

Posted by Scott (FL) on November 08, 2005 at 20:56:06:

Please someone correct me if I am wrong since I am not an expert but…

Land trusts do not have any liability protection except for keeping your name out of public view. The trust is not recorded so the beneficiary is unknown to the public. One way may be to use a trustee,(someone you trust) and an LLC be the beneficiary. This way you should have your liability protection if the courts demand from your trustee who the beneficiary is.

You can hold title to your properties directly into a LLC, but make sure your lender will approve. This will not help with any privacy since the members of the LLC is available through public record. You can place a few like-kind properties in one LLC, but beware, if something happens at one of those properties that put you into a court situation, all properties in that LLC may be vulnerable.

Get yourself a million of liability insurance per property(State Farm) with an additional 1,2,3 million umbrella policy over the top of all which should be sufficient for most claims.

Hope this helps.

Asset Protection -LLC or Landtrust??? - Posted by Erskine

Posted by Erskine on November 08, 2005 at 06:03:48:

I need help in determining the best way to hold rental property. I am in Illinois and it cost $600 to establish each and every LLC, therefore it would not be cost effective to establish a separate LLC for several properties.

What protection if any would a landtrust provide should properties be placed in separate landtrusts for protection againt lawsuits, unsavry creditors and so on?

Thanks for any help on these question in advance…

Re: Asset Protection -LLC or Landtrust??? - Posted by John Corey

Posted by John Corey on November 11, 2005 at 23:44:08:

Erskine,