Any advice for a beginner - Posted by Adam

Posted by David G (OR) on May 17, 2002 at 14:39:25:

Can you share what you did to ‘market your services’.
How many flyers, bandit signs, phone calls, etc…?
to neighborhoods, newpaper ads, attorneys, etc…?

Any advice for a beginner - Posted by Adam

Posted by Adam on May 17, 2002 at 13:08:36:

I am from south florida and just graduated from college. I have the entire summer to delve into real estate and learn as much as I can before I move up to New York City and start working full-time in October. Sicne there are so many areas in real estate to learn about, I’m trying to really gain knowledge in a few key areas to get me started on my way. I have some capital and decent credit. I would appreciate any recommendations for courses I should look into or areas that would be most beneficial. Also, what time-frame do people normally look at before making any money with real estate (months, years). Thanks.

I’m also a beginner and doing pretty good! - Posted by Marcus(Dallas)

Posted by Marcus(Dallas) on May 17, 2002 at 14:11:39:

I too am a beginner. I’ve had a hard time getting started because I had no capital and horrible credit. My first deal was a flip. I put a run-down house under contract and sold to an investor that rehabs houses. I made a quick $2000. I now focus primarily on “pretty houses”. I look for lease/purchase and subject to deals. Through determination and persistence I will probably net about $10,000 profit this month. I have a couple of deals lined up for next month that will net me about $40,000 if everything goes according to plan. Needless to say I am thrilled to death. I’m only 23 years old and a college dropout and will possibly make more in one month than most of my family makes in one year.