Advice on career choice and investing - Posted by Steven

Posted by Alex on January 15, 2008 at 11:59:36:

I had actually done several of those things. I invested in 4 units, condos, and single families while working. About a year ago I went full time into real estate. If you go this route make sure you are ready to suck it up for a while since getting started is difficult for even the best. I am a broker in CA and am now working on commercial deals and larger residential stuff. Real estate folks care what deals have you been involved with since there are a lot things to be aware of. If you can find a mentor at a brokerage or investment firm part-time that is what I would recommend. There are opportunnities in real estate in any market. Real estate is not just buying and selling properties there are deeds of trust, re stocks, and a huge list of other money making avenues related to a collaterilized asset. If your willing to suck it up you will do very well in the long run and will build up equity a lot faster than working for someone - just keep your eyes open.

Advice on career choice and investing - Posted by Steven

Posted by Steven on October 12, 2007 at 07:38:55:

Dear all,

I know this is a little bit off topic, but I hope that you can give me some suggestion.

I am in my mid-thirties, have been working in IT for over 10 years, and looking to start investing in commercial real estate, and in fact, I am so interested in real estate investing that I got my real estate license and passed the 1st course of CCIM a year ago.

My dream is to have my own real estate investment / development company one day, just like Ray.

There are different career path I am considering to achieve my dream, and I hope that some of you who are experienced in this field or have similar experience give me some advice: