A rant to clear my mind - Posted by Tom Bazley, CPA

Posted by Mike on August 01, 2004 at 17:52:46:

Hehe. I was going to send you a follow up mail but alas, we share the same email address :wink:

Delete some 0’s

0K0a0t0y0.0M0i0k0e0@0v0e0r0i0z0o0n0.0n0e0t

Mostly just curious at how expensive your money is from the lenders right now :slight_smile:

A rant to clear my mind - Posted by Tom Bazley, CPA

Posted by Tom Bazley, CPA on July 30, 2004 at 09:58:32:

I received a newsletter yesterday & it made me think of some things. So, I’m going to take this opportunity to vent & get some things off my chest. Take this for what it’s worth.

When I got into real estate in 1992 I, like many people, was looking for something to replace a job I couldn’t stand. But the winds of change veered me onto a different couse, & now that is no longer my goal. As a successful CPA, my main professional ambition is to further develop my accounting & tax practice. I still own a few rentals & I wholesale 2 or 3 houses a year, but I do it to fund my daughter’s college education & my retirement. I have no desire to be a full time investor or to create an “autopilot” business. Mostly my involvement in real estate is used to gain more accounting & tax clients.

When I started in 1992, on any given Sunday, there were perhaps 8 “I Buy Houses” ads in the newspaper. Now there’s no fewer than 30. You can’t go 2 miles in this city w/out seeing 3 “I Buy Houses” bandit signs. In the real estate investment club of which I am a director, the weekly classes are filled.

The problem is that most of the folks in the classes, running the ads, & placing the signs will never do anything at all in real estate. They seem to think it’s a get rich quick & easy business. I was a motivated seller of a house 2 years ago. I called on no fewer than 7 ads & signs & left messages. I got one call back. And he said he couldn’t make a deal of it.