A question for rehabbers - Posted by Joe

Posted by Joe on October 28, 2004 at 10:57:09:

Del,

Thanks for the info and offer and i may take you up on that offer!

Thanks again.

A question for rehabbers - Posted by Joe

Posted by Joe on October 27, 2004 at 13:00:26:

I am new to the business and am in the process of evaluating my first deals. My question is this, is there a formula you use to estimate the cost of repairs for a rehab project? I am planning on using handymen where possible and contractors when necessary to handle the rehab and I am struggling with coming up with a ?cost of repairs? figure. I am talking about mostly jobs like kitchen and baths, carpets, roofs, windows and doors, ect. I am staying away from structural repairs and things like plumbing and electrical upgrades whenever possible.

I have heard things like 3 times the cost of materials but is that a safe bet?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Re: A question for rehabbers - Posted by Jay

Posted by Jay on October 28, 2004 at 11:54:27:

Sorry, I meant RS Means.

Re: A question for rehabbers - Posted by Jay

Posted by Jay on October 28, 2004 at 11:46:39:

The M.S. Means Catalog will give you material and labor costs based on this year’s prices (2004). Most homebuilders/contractors will use this catalog to develop there estimate for all materials and labor costs invlolved in the construction process. The catalog lists all 16 divisions of the construction process.

Re: A question for rehabbers - Posted by jasonrei

Posted by jasonrei on October 27, 2004 at 22:47:09:

I don’t use a formula. I kinda just learned thru experience what things cost. Wish I had a better answer.

Re: A question for rehabbers - Posted by John-Fl

Posted by John-Fl on October 27, 2004 at 13:42:46: