$500 down the drain??? - Posted by Paul_MA

Posted by Eric C on October 18, 2000 at 11:51:11:

Hi all -

Notwithstanding the current market climate in Detroit, I have NEVER done a hard money deal that involved personal guarantees.

However, as Dave says, that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t, I would have to take another very hard look at the deal first.

Real Estate is a funny game. As a money manager I can lose fairly consistently (sometimes for years), then win only once and achieve both fame and fortune.

Real Estate is almost exactly the opposite, I can win every time for a very long period, and then lose everything because I made one very small, but really bad decision. Often for many folks in the Real Estate game, that bad decision is to personally guarantee just one more deal.

With regard to my area, I’ve done deals throughout most of the United States and in Europe; still no personal guarantees. Not for hard money anyway.

Of course, we may be arguing semantics here. True hard money loans translate to me to be EXPENSIVE. Upfront points, prepayment penalties, very low LTV’s and short term fuses.

If I’m going to put up with all that, then why not go ahead a get a bank loan? Mostly, I do.

But for me, the major reasons to get a hard money loan would be speed (I can do one of these in as little as an hour sometimes) and the fact that the property (or deal) stands by itself – again, no personal guarantees. This would allow me to do more deals. And not have to keep looking over my shoulder.

Now, I will tell you that when “I” provide the money for someone else’s deal (I become the hard money lender), I push for every concession I can get (just like most lender’s do)including personal guarantees. Why not?

Like Dave said, you need to know your market. I think it’s critical to know your own capabilities too. Develop a track record and prove yourself.

But, if I were you, I’d keep looking for less stringent lenders. They are out there, I assure you.