1031 Exchange Question on - Posted by Hope(Fl)

Posted by Jim Kennedy - Houston, TX on September 17, 2000 at 09:20:39:

Hi Carol,

You are right. In order to COMPLETELY defer the taxes in a 1031 exchange, “the target property - properties - must be of equal or greater value.” Keep in mind that I’m no expert on 1031 exchanges but I think that if Hope exchanges into properties that have a total value less than her original property, she would simply have a current tax liability for any “boot” that she receives. You were right on with your advice to Hope to have an expert help her.

BTW, whatcha doin’ in UT, Rising Star or workin’ with John Behle or both? Give my best to your hubby!

Best of Success!!

Jim Kennedy,
Houston, TX

1031 Exchange Question on - Posted by Hope(Fl)

Posted by Hope(Fl) on September 17, 2000 at 05:47:14:

I have a single family home worth 150,000 that I would like to exchange for 3 or 4 lower priced properties to total approx. 150,000. Can I do this, or can I only exchange 1 for 1? TIA

Re: 1031 Exchange Question on - Posted by lex Gurevich, TX

Posted by lex Gurevich, TX on September 17, 2000 at 19:56:22:

Dew is right about lining up your replacement property in advance if possible - it may be quite a challenge to find 3 property in 45 days. In fact I just had this very situation in front of me and I only managed to spend 2/3 of the money sitting in the coordinator’s account. So I got about $8,000 unused back and will have to pay taxes on it. When you have some time pressure things can get tricky. I had 2 homes under contract and both fell through, so I could not use the funds.

One other thing I may suggest: check with the title company where you close your deals. They may have a local exchange coordinator who they deal with very often. If the coordinator is local you’ll be able to come to their office and get a free consultation.

Also… - Posted by dewCO

Posted by dewCO on September 17, 2000 at 18:59:30: