Why do most lenders require owner occupancy? - Posted by sdupdike

Posted by phil fernandez on October 02, 2002 at 19:54:06:

Hi Randy,

My guess is also that the government wants to encourage home ownership, therefore they guarantee mortgages ( HUD, VA, Rural Dev etc. ) , with low downpayments.

Why do most lenders require owner occupancy? - Posted by sdupdike

Posted by sdupdike on October 02, 2002 at 14:19:05:

I have read alot about this in past posts. Why would it matter when you go for a loan who occupies the house? (Can you say newbie?)

It just makes sense doesn’t it?? - Posted by Kim (FL)

Posted by Kim (FL) on October 02, 2002 at 22:33:35:

As a mtg broker, I can not believe the amount of people that call me for investment financing when they can’t even handle their own day to day expenses. They have $2 dollars in the bank, can’t pay their $20 minimum payment on their sears card yet they want a loan for $120,000??? I also can’t believe how over leveraged some of the investors I work with are. They have a huge debts for everything they own. Which is not to say that my owner occupant clients are much better but everyone deserves a place to live. That is the American way right? :slight_smile:

Did you know that Fannie Mae changed their lending guidelines for investors this year. You have to qualify for the new debt AND your old debts. Before you could off-set your new debt with a lease but the default rate for NOO has climbed so high that they want to make sure you can truly handle the extra payment. That puts a lot of people out of the fannie mae market, unfortunately. Oh, if you have two years of rental income on your tax returns they will consider you experienced and let you off-set the debt. Makes sense to me as much as I hate the rule (less closings for me)!! :slight_smile:

Lenders have been studying default rates - Posted by David Krulac

Posted by David Krulac on October 02, 2002 at 15:21:51: