Subordination to build on vacant lots? - Posted by Burt Buchanan

Posted by Michael on November 04, 2000 at 11:08:19:

I am a builder, and just sold a spec home within 45 days of completion, I also sold one earlier this year, before it was complete. I didn’t owner finance either. As a matter of fact there are two spec homes next to the one I just sold, offering owner financing, that were completely built when I started construction on mine, and they are still on the market. My house sold for $132,000 the ones offering owner financing, started asking $129,900 reduced to $119,900. Hey, if they keep dropping in price, I may buy them, change the paint and carpet, add ceramic tile instead of vinyl flooring, rework a couple of the flaws in the layout, possibly add covered parking, and since they are slightly larger homes resale them for about $140,000.

The secret is presentation, most people don’t have vision. Keep the colors mostly neutral, don’t go to cheap on the appliances, plumbing and light fixtures, make sure you have a formal dining area, superb kitchen, and an exquisite master bathroom this should help you sell your homes faster. Covered parking is also a BIG plus.

Subordination to build on vacant lots? - Posted by Burt Buchanan

Posted by Burt Buchanan on November 01, 2000 at 15:35:30:

How do I nogotiate with residential vacant lots owners to build a new house when I have no cash to first buy the lot? I heard banks won’t give out construction loans unless you first own the lot. Is there a way around this dilemma? How is the use of subordination used in this situation? How does builder make a landowner’s mortgage note subordinate to the construction loan and when permanent financing is put into place, the landowner gets paid off. Can someone please explain in detail how this works?

Also, how do I locate the owners of a lot when there is no physical address?

Forgive me… I’m new to this… Thanks

Re: Subordination to build on vacant lots? - Posted by Ed Garcia