Strategy & Meth Labs??? - Posted by JDH

Posted by Stacy (AZ) on September 20, 2000 at 13:23:00:

JDH, I’d be careful if I were you. There are penalties for practicing agency without a license in most (if not all) states. I’d suggest researching this, or getting an opinion from an attorney. I’ve included the AZ statute below that defines the acts that constitute RE broker or salesperson activity. The key phrases are “for others” and “for compensation”. If you are not a principal in the transaction (sign a purchase and sales contract or option), then how can you prove you are a principal? Anyway, I’m not a lawyer, and I don’t know your state’s statutes, but if I were you I’d find out.

Good luck…sounds like you have found a niche.

Stacy

-------From AZ revised statutes-----------------

1. “Real estate broker” means a person, other than a salesperson, who, for another and for compensation:

(a) Sells, exchanges, purchases, rents or leases real estate or time-share intervals.

(b) Offers to sell, exchange, purchase, rent or lease real estate or time-share intervals.

(c) Negotiates or offers, attempts or agrees to negotiate the sale, exchange, purchase, rental or leasing of real estate or time-share intervals.

(d) Lists or offers, attempts or agrees to list real estate or time-share intervals for sale, lease or exchange.

(e) Auctions or offers, attempts or agrees to auction real estate or time-share intervals.

(f) Buys, sells, offers to buy or sell or otherwise deals in options on real estate or time-share intervals or improvements to real estate or time-share intervals.

(g) Collects or offers, attempts or agrees to collect rent for the use of real estate or time-share intervals.

(h) Advertises or holds himself out as being engaged in the business of buying, selling, exchanging, renting or leasing real estate or time-share intervals or counseling or advising regarding real estate or time-share intervals.