Sole Proprietor - Posted by B WADE

Posted by ToolBar_SC on July 09, 2001 at 15:34:35:

I’m not a tax professional but, a sole proprietorship is passed through to the individual’s tax return. It is no cusion between yourself and your tenants as far a a legal position is concerned. As a sole proprietorship you are as libel as you are now.

Creating a sole proprietorship in hopes of creating a cushion is a waste of time. A good fairly knowledgable tenant would see right through it.

If you do not to make changes on your taxes, and would also like provide youself some legal cushion; I would suggest forming an LLC. Depending on what state you are in you could form a single member LLC at very little expense. If your in one of the few states that require two members to form an LLC then get your spouse to be a non-voting member.

The only change that will take place on your taxes is in the form that will have to be filled out for the IRS. I don’t know what your states tax requirements are and you should check them out before proceeding.

Best of luck
ToolBar_SC

Sole Proprietor - Posted by B WADE

Posted by B WADE on July 09, 2001 at 15:11:12:

Will putting my properties in a sole proprietorship have any effect taxwise as opposed to just having them as an individual? I own three duplexes and I’m just trying to put a little cushion between myself and tenants. Checks made payable to company instead of me,PO address ,cell phone instead of home no. etc.I know there are better ways of gaining anonynimity just want to make sure I’m not hurting myself at tax time. Thanks B Wade

Re: Sole Proprietor - Posted by William bronchick

Posted by William bronchick on July 10, 2001 at 09:13:21:

A sole proprietor is one who operates on schedule C as a business. You cannot do that with rentals; rental properties are reported on schedule E.