Sheriffs Sale In Texas - Posted by Kelvin

Posted by Kelvin on June 29, 2001 at 19:43:16:

I appreciate the various comments from everyone. I do not type very fast, so I normally do not go into to much details. However, I was responding to an ad in the public notices titled Sheriff’s Sale. I have been investing in R/E part time for the last ten years and I have purchased and sold several properties and understand the foreclosure process fairly well, however I have never been to the courthouse steps to attend a Sheriff’s Sale. Anyway, I contacted the person in the ad and spoke with the bank employee who will be at the courthouse steps handling the sale for the bank.
The house will be unlocked for 1 hour for inspection and shortly afterwards the sale will take place at the
courthouse steps. Based on the information I gathered, it looks like my best opportunity may be to try and purchase from the bank after the sale. What should a person offer assuming the bank is the high bidder?

Thanks,
Kelvin

Sheriffs Sale In Texas - Posted by Kelvin

Posted by Kelvin on June 27, 2001 at 06:42:29:

What are the pros and cons of buying property at a sheriffs
sale. Should you try to buy before or after the sale? Thanks
for any advice.

Kelvin

There are No Sheriff’s Sales in Texas - Posted by Jim Kennedy - Houston, TX

Posted by Jim Kennedy - Houston, TX on June 29, 2001 at 14:13:22:

Kelvin,

You’ve received some excellent responses. I?d just like to add one comment.

If you?re going to deal in the foreclosure market in Texas, you ought to get the terminology right. We don?t have Sheriff?s Sales in Texas. Foreclosed properties are auctioned at Trustee Sales or Constable Sales.

Hope this helps.

Best of Success!!

Jim Kennedy,
Houston, TX

Re: Sheriffs Sale In Texas - Posted by JT - IN

Posted by JT - IN on June 27, 2001 at 22:17:25:

Kelvin: