"seedy" neighborhhods - Posted by Steve-Az

Posted by Chuck (AZ) on July 16, 2001 at 20:17:15:

Yea, I know.

So where’s the spellchecker on this thing?

:wink:

“seedy” neighborhhods - Posted by Steve-Az

Posted by Steve-Az on July 15, 2001 at 04:26:03:

Hi Everyone,
I’m completely new to the idea of buying, rehabing and selling used mobile homes. I’ve order “DOW” a few days ago and I’m anxiously awaiting it’s arrival. In the meantime, I’ve been looking through the want ads, driving through a few MHP’s, looking up MH contractors, Title companies that handle mobile home notes, etc…Just trying to get a general feel for the whole concept and what’s available in my area. I’ve noticed that a lot of the MHP’s that I’ve driven through seem to be rather “seedy”. These homes look pretty old, they’re in very cramped quarters (not much in the way of yard space)and the parks seem to be rather “run down”. Will this type of investing work well in these areas, or should I focus on the more “well kept” MHP’s? Does it make a difference? Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

Re: “seedy” neighborhhods - Posted by Chuck (AZ)

Posted by Chuck (AZ) on July 15, 2001 at 13:54:18:

When people first start with this angle of RE, they make one of two mistakes.

1. They look for “nice” homes thinking they’ll make a larger profit.

2. They look for “trashed” homes thinking they’ll be cheaper to buy.

You should be looking for MOTIVATED sellers, NOT homes.

What’s a motivated seller? That’s someone who needs to be rid of the home today… or at least sometime this week. They’ve tried to sell it themselves without success. They’re facing another mortgage payment or lot rent they can’t afford… or for whatever reason they just need it to go away.

That’s where the deals are.

Re: “seedy” neighborhhods - Posted by Steve

Posted by Steve on July 15, 2001 at 13:57:50:

Chuck,
Thanks for the insight. I assume that the book DOW
will go into detail on how to find motivated sellers?