resale to non citizens - Posted by Tricia L.

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on July 14, 2002 at 19:49:52:

The information I have is from books sitting on my shelf for Washington State, but covers some federal laws and regulations also. I suppose one could find the same information with the individual state web sites and federal web sites dealing with fair housing laws. I am not involved in real estate dealing with over 55+ type communities. As an agent, I have to be aware of the discriminatory practices and not be involved in them; but I don’t have them memorized. :slight_smile:

If you, as an individual investor, want to rent and/or sell property; you cannot discriminate. That criteria are things such as race, religion, family status, age, and few others. However, these laws also have exceptions that may be taken into account. The example given that an over age 55+ community that is built for this purpose, “can” discriminate to those under 55 years of age.

When we are talking about family status and children, you cannot discrimate on the basis that someone has a child, divorced, single, married, or be denied because of that status; and this is different than an over 55 age community built for that express purpose of a community made of those over the age of 55.

My opinions? Sure, I don’t mind communities with restrictions for the over 55+ crowd. These folks want a community to enjoy their peaceful surroundings and don’t want the 8 year olds yelling out, “Hey, look at the old people!”. :slight_smile: Remember though, these are communities exempt from this, not an individual investor discriminating against someone over the age of 55 years old.

resale to non citizens - Posted by Tricia L.

Posted by Tricia L. on July 13, 2002 at 16:58:01: