Repossessing Lonnie Deals - Posted by John Katitus

Posted by phil fernandez on August 18, 1999 at 10:55:25:

DC,

Your questions about taking a mobile home back will be state specific. Check in with your states laws and regulations on this.

A quit claim deed is a deed that transfers ownership just like a warranty deed. The quit claim deed is more limited than a warranty deed in that it only transfers the specific interest that the one transfering the deed actually has. It does not warrant title further back in the chain of title. I’m not a lawyer, but that is my take on the subject.

In my reply earlier I used the terms deed and bill of sale as the same. Some states transfer mobiles through a bill of sale, like my state and some transfer mobiles through various types of deeds, so I’m told.
In my state I wouldn’t really execute a quit claim deed at the original closing. I would execute a second bill of sale transfering title back to me in case the buyer stopped paying me.

This area of getting either this second bill of sale or with real estate, a quit claim deed, at the original closing and having it hold up in court is a gray area. They may not. I would consult a local attorney on this issue.

Saying that it might not hold up in court, the reality of the matter is this. Very very seldom are you going to have your defaulting buyer challenge this point in court. They don’t have the funds, energy, or desire to. Most of them will just walkaway and disappear.

Repossessing Lonnie Deals - Posted by John Katitus

Posted by John Katitus on August 18, 1999 at 24:42:12:

I guess I have come full circle in the Lonnie business now that it is time to repossess the first home I sold. The mobile home is titled in the name of the buyer with me as lienholder. They didn’t pay last month and are probably getting evicted from the park for other violations.

I would greatly appreciate all advice on the repo process. Thanks.

Re: Repossessing Lonnie Deals - Posted by Robert McNeely