Reasonable drafting/design fee? - Posted by SteveA (FL)

Posted by Jon on August 11, 2005 at 08:02:53:

I pay .60psf for drawings and about 900.00 for egineering.

Reasonable drafting/design fee? - Posted by SteveA (FL)

Posted by SteveA (FL) on August 11, 2005 at 07:25:41:

I need to physically move a front entry. GC says I need to hire a drafting/design person to draw it up for pulling permits. I did and the estimate is $2800 for front/side before/after elevations and remodeled kitchen drawings.

Is that reasonable? I’ve never used a design person before. Turns out this guy and I went to the same high school a year apart and are from the same hometown. Don’t think he would try and take advantage of me or anything.

Thanks.

Re: Reasonable drafting/design fee? - Posted by depends

Posted by depends on August 13, 2005 at 15:49:18:

What do you mean by “need to move a front entry”?

If it just means moving the front door to a new location, I’ve done that before without a permit.

If it means tearing down an integral part of the house and rebuilding a brand new huge entry/covered porch addition, you are looking at some design/permit cost. Or if it is a commercial building.

I’ve had an architect give me three design variations for $1500 (design layout only) for a whole house remodel. I had another guy (non-architect) bid $3000 for the same house but he was going to get into more of the details including permits and follow through with the whole project. Costs for designing a remodeled kitchen just by itself could vary widely depending on what is being done and/or if done by an expensive specialty kitchen designer.