Question on incorporating... - Posted by Russ McAllister

Posted by Jason-DTX on November 03, 1998 at 10:56:06:

I’m not a lawyer or cpa, this is just what I have learned.

A “S” corp is taxed more like a partnership, The corp files an informational return and the rest is filed on your personal return. (I’m not 100% sure on this, I use a C corp.) I just know that I don’t want anything with dealer status anywhere near my personal return.
I do know that a land trust is invisible to the IRS. (Bronchick’s site has the IRC #) So if you own the beneficial interest personally then it goes on your return. If a corp owns the beneficial interest then it goes on a corp return.
If you plan on doing a lot of flips then you need to get with a CPA that is experienced with REI.
Jason

Question on incorporating… - Posted by Russ McAllister

Posted by Russ McAllister on October 31, 1998 at 21:45:07:

Hi everyone! I’m just getting started, but after reading a number of books on real-estate investing, I decided that the liability protection of a corporation might be a good idea. As such, I used “The Company Corporation” based in Delaware to incorporate myself. Having received my corporation forms, however, I am now unsure of exactly what to do next. I know that I need to fill out the “SS-4” form to get an EIN, but, frankly, I found the form terribly confusing and ambiguous. I just graduated from college, so I really don’t have the money at this point to consult an attorney or an accountant for guidance.

Can anyone offer me any advice or help with the next few steps, preferably someone familiar with the process?

I imagine there are probably others out there who would also benefit from this information.

Thanks in advance,
Russ McAllister

To avoid any potential confusion, I decided to incorporate as a “corporation” rather than as an “LLC”, etc. If this was a mistake, please let me know. Thanks!

Re: Question on incorporating… - Posted by David larkins