Possible Short Sale? - Posted by Ronnie

Posted by MattFL on February 11, 2004 at 21:40:08:

Hey Ronnie,
There is really no possibility of a short sale unless you are in contact with the owner of the property. You need their cooperation. The lenders will not even talk to you unless you get authorization from the owners to release information. So, can you contact the owners? If you can, then start there and post again. I’ll be glad to help.
-Matt

Possible Short Sale? - Posted by Ronnie

Posted by Ronnie on February 11, 2004 at 19:19:15:

Good Evening. I am a newbie and am currently doing research on purchasing at the county courthouse auction. I have found a property: The first is foreclosing for 351K, there is a second for 100K and the comps are 525K-575K. I can purchase up to 400K cash no more. If the second doesn’t show great, however if they do and I am out bid what are your recomendations for possible short sale on the second? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

Re: Possible Short Sale? - Posted by JT-IN

Posted by JT-IN on February 11, 2004 at 21:48:34:

Ronnie:

Once the auction occurs, any incentive for a short sale by a Jr mtg holder is gone. If you are outbid, then the Jr mtg holder will certainly know what the bid was, and be able to figure easily that their net from the sale would be higher than your offer of a short sale… Let’s say that a third party bidder out bids you @ 425K on this deal, the second will net 74K, (without calculating any clerk of court fees, or other possible issues that may effect their net after sale). So why would they accept an offer from you where they net 50K…? They wouldn’t.